top of page


Georgia NAACP coordinates the work of the various Units and stimulates the participates ambitions throught joint workshops, cultural enrichment activities, and fundraising endeavors.  

The NAACP’s Afro-Academic, Cultural, Technological and Scientific Olympics (ACT-SO) is a yearlong achievement program designed to recruit, stimulate, and encourage high academic and cultural achievement among African-American high school students.

ACT-SO includes 32 competitions in STEM, humanities, business, and performing, visual and culinary arts. Almost 300,000 young people have participated from the program since its inception.


For over thirty years the mission of ACT-SO has been to prepare, recognize and reward youth of African descent who exemplify scholastic and artistic excellence.

The goals of ACT-SO are:

  • To mobilize the adult community for the promotion of academic and  artistic excellence

  • To recognize creative talent and academic achievement

  • To provide and assist students with the necessary skills to establish goals and acquire the confidence and training to make a successful contribution to society.

"This is the place where professionals, mentors and your peers desire to see you succeed."

- Larry Brown, Jr.



DeKalb County NAACP

7 Gold Medals

Xavier Doyle - Dramatics

Josiah O'Connor Music Instrumental


Ana Villavasso - Film making

Zayla Bryant - Oratory

Salmoncain Smith Shomade - Poetry


Danya Boyer - Painting

Sultan Ziyad - Architecture


Henry County NAACP Youth Council

4 Gold Medals

Maya Daniel - Short Story, Play writing

Kyla Duff - Music Volcal Contemporary

Tanea Harris - Poetry Performance

Shanece Daniel - Observer due to illness


Atlanta NAACP

4 Gold Medals

Jaivyn Beauford -Modern Dance

Madison Jarrett- Dance Contemporary

Olivia Richardson - Culinary

Nicholas Alexander Wilkinson II- Music Vocal

Contemporary & Dramatics

There are FIVE others on a DELTA team

Carroll County NAACP

6 Gold Medals 

Kira Babbs - Poetry Written & Original Essay

Josephine Glass- Musical Contemporary & Vocal Classic

Lauren Glass - Drawing & Poetry Performance

Mark Johnson - Oratory

Kai McMichael - Short Story

Khalil Payne - Music Instrumental Classic



GSC Chair Dr. De'Shazior-Hill/HENRY COUNTY ACT-SO 

Atlanta Dr. Plowden Chair 

Carroll Candice Babbs Chair 

Carroll Marilyn Glass Co-Chair 

DeKalb Dr. Freda Hammonds Chair 

DeKalb Dr. Beretta Smith Shomade Co-Chair 

Henry Esmond Charles Pickett Jr. Co-Chair 


​Atlanta Branch

Dr. Martha Plowden

Henry County

Dr. Patricia Deshazior-Hill

State ACT-SO Co-Chair

Brooks County Branch

Dr. Patricia DeShazior-Hill

State ACT-SO Chair

Carroll County Branch

Candice Babbs​​

DeKalb County Branch

Freda Hamond 


Henry County Branch

Esmond Pickett​


Here are the National winners from ACT-SO 2021:


Dekalb winners from 2021.  


4 students with 5 winning categories.  


Layla Alexis White won Silver in two categories:

    1.    Silver Medalist

    2.    Dance Silver Medalist



Josiah O’Connor

Silver Medalist

Music Instrumental Classical 


Daraja Maye

Silver Medalist



Sultan Ziyad

Silver Medalist 


Congratulations To Our 2022 Georgia ACT-SO Gold Medalists!

bottom of page